The Single Girls Calendar – Erin Green

A task a day to cure a broken heart.

Esmé Peel is approaching thirty with some trepidation, but hope in her heart. If she can just get her long-term boyfriend Andrew to propose, she will have ticked everything off her ‘things to do by the time you’re 30’ list. She didn’t reckon on finding another woman’s earring in her bed however, and soon she finds herself single, homeless and in need of a new plan. Her best friend Carys gives her the perfect present – The Single Girl’s Calendar – which has a different cure for heartbreak every day:

Day 1: Look and feel fabulous with a new hair style.

Day 2: Step out of your comfort zone and try something new.

Day 3: Reconnect with friends and enjoy!

Despite thinking it’s a bit of a gimmick, Esmé hasn’t got any better ideas, so she puts the plan into action. By the end of week one she has four new male housemates, and despite a broken heart she is determined to show Andrew she can do more than survive, she can thrive.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Faking Friends – Jane Fallon

Your best friend stole your fiancé. Do you run away and hide, or start planning your revenge? Find out in Sunday Timesbestselling author Jane Fallon’s BRAND NEW novel.

Best friend, soulmate, confidante . . . backstabber.

Amy thought she knew everything there was to know about her best friend Melissa. Then again, Amy also thought she was on the verge of the wedding of her dreams to her long-distance fiancé.

Until she pays a surprise trip home to London. Jack is out, but it’s clear another woman has been making herself at home in their flat.

There’s something about her stuff that feels oddly familiar . . . and then it hits Amy. The Other Woman is Melissa.

Amy has lost her home, her fiancé and her best friend in one disastrous weekend – but instead of falling apart, she’s determined to get her own back.

Piecing her life back together won’t be half as fun as dismantling theirs, after all.

REVIEW

When I spotted this latest novel from Jane Fallon appear I knew I had to read it, I love Jane’s talent for writing about real women and relationships.

From the beginning of this novel I adored main character Amy, there was something completely relatable about her and I warmed to her straight away. I couldn’t imagine how she must feel coming home to find her soon to be husband having an affair (unless he has decided to start wearing women’s clothes in his spare time) as there is a suitcase full of women’s clothes that are definitely not hers on their bed & toiletries in their bathroom. Who is this woman and why are her things strewn throughout the flat Amy shares with Jack?

To make the horror of finding out your fiancee is having an affair, imagine the body blow when you find the woman in question is your best friend! Mel has always been a bit of a bitch, but Amy has spent years overlooking her wrongdoings –  surely this is a step too far even for Amy to overlook. But she can’t just confront them can she? She has to do something more, but what?! Can Amy make herself feel better by bringing about the downfall of Jack and Mel or will she end up locked in a battle with the woman she used to call her best friend?

The complex relationship between Amy and Mel throughout this novel, especially as we see glimpses of their youthful friendship was fascinating. I couldn’t imagine how Amy could have over looked Mel’s many flaws for so long, until I remembered how I had done similar with friends over the years, especially in my younger years. I could see how manipulative Mel had been, and how Amy had been somewhat in awe of her for years, therefore forgiving a lot of her darker aspects. As Amy goes about unpicking their friendship and fighting back against this woman who betrayed her, stole her fiancee and ruined her future, I loved watching her blossoming into a new person without Mel and alongside her partner in crime Katy.

Katy was another character I really enjoyed in this novel, she had been somewhat sidelined by Amy and Mel’s friendship but that didn’t stop her being the one who was there for Amy when she needed a friend. Watching their friendship grow in this book really warmed my heart, it was a story of true friendship and knowing who those people who have your back really are. That story within a story really warmed my heart.

One thing I found really interesting in this novel, was how instead of focusing on the relationship between Amy and her ex fiancee Jack, the story was much more focused on the friendship between Amy and Mel. I have always found it fascinating when an affair happens between two people who know each others partners or one of the partners that the anger seems to be at the partner rather than the one who knew they were in a relationship and pursued them anyway. I like that Jane focused on that female friendship at the forefront, as personally that would have hurt me much more than the fiancee’s betrayal.

I was absolutely pulled into this novel by the betrayal, the lies, and the fight for survival that then occurs. I was praying for Amy to come through stronger than evil and heartless Mel, and to end up happy and sorted in a better place than before. I wanted good to prevail over the mean girl mentality.

This story of betrayal, heartbreak, poisonous friendship and the fight to get life back on track was fantastic, it kept me guessing how it was going to end throughout and I was rooting for Amy from page one.

Jane Fallon has worked her magic once again, with this tale of jealousy, betrayal and back stabbing. Truly with a friend like Mel, who needs enemies!

Thank you to Penguin UK, Micheal Joseph & NetGalley for providing me this copy in exchange for an honest review. 

It Had To Be You – Keris Stainton

Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic – with a hopeless love life. She’s been single ever since her awful ex broke her heart, and the only thing she gets up to in bed is watching rom coms on her laptop.

When Bea meets Dan, who is basically the man of her dreams, she knows she can’t let him get away. They might not have fireworks, but not everyone can be fighting and (loudly) making up every night, like Bea’s housemates.

But Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. As time goes on, Dan seems less like Mr Right, and more like Mr Couldn’t-Be-More-Wrong… Will Bea be brave enough to change her dreams – and dare to ask for more?

A laugh-out-loud tale for anyone who’s ever dreamt of a fairy-tale romance and found a real-life happy ending, for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.

Continue reading

The Girl In The Green Dress – Cath Staincliffe

‘This a wonderful novel, powerful, humane and moving. It’s also one of the best police procedurals I’ve read this year’ Ann Cleeves

How far would you go to protect your child?

Can you really keep them safe? What if who they are puts them at risk?

And what if they have blood on their hands?

Teenager Allie Kennaway heads off for prom night, cheered on by her dad Steve and little sister Teagan. But Allie never comes home, beaten to death in an apparent hate crime because of her transgender identity. As police investigate the brutal murder, a crime that has appalled the country, one parent is at her wit’s end with her son’s behaviour. Are his outbursts and silences hiding something much darker than adolescent mood swings? And if her suspicions are correct, then what does she do? Another parent will fight tooth and nail to save his boy from the full force of the law. After all, blood is thicker than water and everyone should look after their own. But if he succeeds then Allie and her family will never get the justice they deserve.

A groundbreaking story of love and hate, loyalty and betrayal, in a world of change.

Continue reading

The Present – Charlotte Phillips

12 magical gifts, one love that lasts a lifetime…

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me … one romantic Christmas you won’t forget.

When helping to clear out her beloved grandmother’s home, Lucy Jackson discovers twelve beautiful Christmas decorations hidden in the loft. As she discovers their heartbreaking story, a touching romance develops with the handsome gardener next door.

 

 

Continue reading

Random Acts Of Kindness Part 1- Victoria Walters

 An emotional, cosy, community read that will reaffirm your faith in human kindness; perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Penny Parkes and Jo Thomas.

Welcome to Littlewood, a small town community with a big heart. Abbie has fled London and the humiliation of not being able to make rent after being made redundant. Louise, seriously unlucky in love, has thrown herself into her career at the local hospital. And Eszter, who has travelled from Hungary with her daughter, Zoe, hopes to reach out to the mother-in-law she never met while her husband was still alive…

Can a little bit of kindness really change your life? Three very different women are about to find out…

Continue reading

The Present – D S Devlin

This book can also be read with The Present by Charlotte Phillips. Two books, one unforgettable Christmas…

12 deadly gifts, one killer on a Christmas countdown…

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me… this is one deadly Christmas that you can’t forget.

The police are baffled by the ‘Santa’ killer, who sends his intended victims gruesome presents based on the twelve days of Christmas. When a young journalist receives a mutilated bird in the post, it’s a race against time to find the killer…

 

 

Continue reading